Skip to main navigation.
Report Outage: 1-800-927-6206

New Directors Elected; Scholarship Recipients Chosen at Annual Meeting

More than 600 members and guests attended Riverland Energy’s Annual Meeting on Saturday, April 21, at Arcadia High School. Registration was open and a free pancake breakfast was served from 8:00 a.m. to 9:45 a.m.

Voting members sent two new directors to the board. Incumbent Directors Beth Ede and Dan Filla won new terms running unopposed. Term limits required board President Mark Vinz to step down, and longtime Director Bob Lunde retired mid-term after serving a combined 22 years on the Trempealeau Electric and Riverland boards.

Dennis Frame of Osseo edged out Mark Gullicksrud 188–186 to serve the three years remaining in Lunde’s term. Bernadine Zingsheim of Onalaska was the winner of a three-way race with Tom LaFleur and Timothy Irish, both of Onalaska, to fill the seat vacated by Vinz.

Reorganization immediately after the annual meeting saw David Paudler elected to succeed Vinz as president, while Filla and David Anderson were re-elected vice president and secretary-treasurer, respectively. 

Sixteen high school seniors whose families are served by Riverland Energy Cooperative were awarded scholarships in a random drawing of $1,000 each during the meeting. The funds for these scholarships are made available by unclaimed capital credits from former members. The 2018 recipients include:

  • Alma High School: Brilyn Brecka, daughter of Brian and Lynn Brecka
  • Arcadia High School: Jacob Sonsalla, son of Jeffrey and Patrice Sonsalla
  • Blair-Taylor High School: Hilde Everson, daughter of Terry and Charlotte Everson
  • C-FC High School:  Abby Husser, daughter of Bruce and Megan Husser
  • Durand High School: Wesley Brantner, son of Greg and Julie Brantner
  • Eleva-Strum High School: Tatum Everson, daughter of Shari and Calvin Everson
  • G-E-T High School: Isaac Tranberg, son of Jody and Andrew Tranberg
  • Gilmanton High School: Morgan Fillmore, daughter of Mike and Kim Fillmore
  • Holmen High School: Gavin Friesen, son of Cedric and Michelle Friesen
  • Independence High School: Madelyn Woychik, daughter of Dawn and Glen Woychik
  • Mondovi High School: Sydney Ede, daughter of Darrin and Toni Ede
  • Onalaska High School: Mikayla McHugh, daughter of Kathleen McHugh-Sharping/Kurt Sharping and Michael McHugh
  • Osseo-Fairchild: Courtney Wilson, daughter of Sue Wilson
  • Whitehall: Caden Schaub, son of Amy Schaub
  • At Large, Onalaska Luther: Rebecca Schilling, daughter of Richard and Rayann Schilling
  • Line Worker Scholarship recipient: Bradley Schowalter, C-FC, son of John and Tina Schowalter



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo